Spending Spree

Posted: March 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

I have been on a spending spree most of my life. It seems like the more I believe I have, the more I spend. Oh, but not on things that matter. I spend on silly stuff. A lot of times, I spend on things that aren’t good for me. I often sit back and say what a waste, but once I’ve spent it, it’s gone and I can’t get it back. When I was younger, I used to spend so foolishly thinking that I could always correct the mistakes that came along with my youth. One would think that I would have learned better by now, but not a week goes by without me doing some of the exact same spending that I did when I was so young.

A few months ago I decided that I was going to do better. I would spend more for the most important things in my life like my family, my dreams, and my passions. My desire to be what I am supposed to be will claim a lot of what I have so my life’s purpose can be fulfilled.

The spending spree I’m talking about is not the spending of money but of our most precious commodity, our time. How often do we spend it on things that don’t really even matter? Fights with our family and friends, stresses of work, worrying about things that we don’t have any control over. As each moment ticks by so goes our opportunity to have enjoyed it. We often sit back believing that we have an endless amount of time to spend. But just like parents watching how quickly their newborn becomes a toddler then a high school senior and then goes off to college, our lives and chances for success move just as quickly.

No more spending carelessly or without a purpose. I will be better and my hope is that after reading this you all will be too.

Comments
  1. Nikoya Gillespie says:

    Thank you for sharing these beautiful words of wisdom. God bless!

  2. Very nicely stated, Sir. Nicely done indeed.

Leave a Reply

